Wrestling Top 10: Damascus tops final rankings for second consecutive season

Damascus is still on top.

For the second season in a row, the Swarmin’ Hornets finish the campaign ranked No. 1 in The Post’s wrestling Top 10. The Swarmin’ Hornets went undefeated in the regular season, pushing their streak for consecutive dual victories to 152, the fourth longest in U.S. history, according to the National Federation of State High School Associations.

And on Monday, Damascus crowned two individual state champions and had seven placers.

“We’re just such a close family,” senior Ryan Lawrence said. “It’s amazing what we have. I feel like that’s one of the big factors in our success.”

The Post Top 10

1. Damascus (25-0) Last ranked: 1

Lawrence (145 pounds) and Johnny McLaughlin (126 pounds) took home 2A/1A state titles for the Swarmin’ Hornets.

2. Battlefield (9-1) LR: 2

Though the Bobcats lose four-time Virginia Class 6 state champion River Curtis, the team should be strong next season with three-time champion Brandon Wittenberg leading a talented crop of returners.

3. Huntingtown (33-2) LR: 3

At the 4A/3A state championship, 113-pounder Blake Jury and 170-pounder Tristin Breen earned individual championships.

4. Robinson (11-0) LR: 4

Thomas Mukai, a two-time state champ, returns next season to help the Rams try to dethrone Battlefield in Class 6.

5. Glenelg (23-1) LR: 5

The Gladiators had six place-winners and two state champions (132-pounder Jared Thomas and 170-pounder Max Sotka) in the 2A/1A finals.

6. Westfield (19-3) LR: 6

The Bulldogs have finished second behind Battlefield in the region tournament each of the past two seasons.

7. Spalding (11-6) LR: 7

The Cavaliers crowned two all-Americans this season in 152-pounder Garrett Fisk and 120-pounder P.J. Truntich.

8. St. John’s (19-10) LR: 8

The Cadets return three Washington Catholic Athletic Conference champions and three league finalists next season.

9. Landon (15-6) LR: 10

At the Interstate Athletic Conference tournament, Bears 126-pounder Lorenzo Lopez was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler after winning his second straight league title.

10. Leonardtown (13-2) LR: NR